+353 59 9133232 | info@walshwhiskey.com
Tel: +353 59 9133232 | Email: info@walshwhiskey.com
News & Events

Walsh Whiskey Distillery wins Gold in the 2016 Whiskies of the World Awards

Walsh Whiskey Distillery are delighted to announce that they have received the Gold Award in the 2016 Whiskies of the World Awards for Writers Tears Copper Pot.

Whiskies of the World Expo, one of the largest and most popular consumer whisky tasting events in the US, has announced the results of the Whiskies of the World Awards competition. In their third year, the whisky awards are supported by Whiskies of the World’s London-based parent company, International Wine & Spirit Competition. The judging panels include industry professionals from Austin and Houston whose benchmarks are such that awarding a Gold medal has a 31% success rate.

All the spirits were judged on a 100-point basis, concentrating on appearance, aromatics, flavor, mouthfeel and finish. The highly esteemed industry experts then selected Writers Tears Copper Pot and awarded it the coveted 2016 Whiskies of the World Awards GOLD Medal.

Writers Tears is a unique example of classic Irish whiskey named for the esteemed Irish writers and playwrights of the 19th century who sought inspiration and comfort in their local watering holes.  Produced using the same methods as original 19th Century Irish distillers using distillates from the Copper Pot only. Writers Tears is a vatting of single malt and single pot still whiskey that uses 100% Irish barley for its production creating an ultra-premium brand.  The distillates in Writers Tears come from copper pots only (no grain), and is triple distilled with an abv of 40%, non-peated and matured and aged in American oak bourbon casks. Writers Tears offers aromas of apple with hints of vanilla and honey that lead to a gently spiced palate of ginger and butterscotch culminating in a long, elegant finish with subtle notes of milk chocolate and almonds.

Woody Kane, Brand Relationship Manager with Walsh Whiskey was “…absolutely delighted with the win. There are so many great whiskeys out there for all and having this Gold award gives the consumer a more developed sense into the quality of Writers Tears Copper Pot.”


Judging Panel:

Michael Sanders – Drink Well

Mike Raymond  – Reserve 101

John McEntire  –  Twin Liquors

David Maguire  –  Austin Shaker

Rohit Topiwala  – Beverage World

Jessica Barnard – Twin Liquors

Michael Parker –  Opal Divine’s

Mike Groener – Genius Liquids

Kevin Stein – Twin Marketplace

Adrian Montanez  – Twin Liquors

Purav Patel   – Village Liquors

Aisling Gammil   –  Drink well and Whislers

Jeff Boley – Midnight Cowboy

Greg Randle – Good Taste Report

Charlie Valentine  – Peche

Carley Dunavant – Republic National Distributing Company

Ken Seeber  – Twin Platinum Store

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

thirteen + 9 =